Eyes On The Prize(s)

February 4, 2012

This year I have set myself three running targets along with “stretch” versions of each. In the past I’ve been quite cagey about revealing my targets so this post is something of a departure for me.  Here they are:

1) Total mileage

Target 1,700 miles, stretch target 2,012 miles (in 2012).

Target is achievable because… …an annual total of 1,700 is 141 miles per month.  In January I managed 130 miles skipping a few runs and without any seriously long runs.  As I train for the Loch Ness Marathon in September my mileage will increase significantly, peaking at something like 180 miles per month.

Stretch is a stretch because… …in a word, injuries. If I don’t get injured all year, and if I don’t lose my mojo at any stage, and I choose a high mileage marathon training schedule (and stick to it), and I push hard all the way to the end of the year I might, just might make it. However, I am very injury prone and the chances are I’ll spend a few weeks on the sidelines at the very least. That will be enough to blow my chances of getting close to 2,012 miles.

2) 10k race time

Target 41 mins, stretch 40 mins.

Target is achievable because… …this is the only target I have achieved before, running 40:27 last February.  Admittedly I was running a lot better this time last year but I hope to get close to that form at some stage over the course of the year.

Stretch is a stretch because… …right now I’m running 20 mins for 5k and finding it tough. Running 10k at the same pace is a big step up and my focus this year is the marathon in September.  I won’t have time to spend a couple of months on 10k specific training, and I intend to make sure I don’t overdo it in my unimportant warm -up races.

3) Marathon race time

Target 3 hrs 30 mins, stretch 3 hrs 20 mins.

Target is achievable because… …last March I ran 1:29:12 for the Bath Half Marathon, mid training schedule, without the benefit of a taper, without taking nutrition seriously, and without doing enough strength, flexibility or balance training.  The excellent McMillan Running Calculator suggests that if I can get anywhere near that form I will smash the target.

Stretch is a stretch because… …I might lose training time to injury or other priorities. More importantly, my only marathon experience to date shows just how badly wrong it can go on the day. A 30 minute improvement is a hell of an ask. Oh, and there is the small matter of the Loch Ness course being quite a bit hillier than London.

I will, of course, keep you posted with my progress against these targets throughout the year.

5 Responses to “Eyes On The Prize(s)”

  1. need2run Says:

    Pingui – I want to be in your shoes in 2 years. I started strong but suffered too many injuries. Could you tell me how you built your base 24 months ago when you started?

  2. Colin Says:

    @need2run – I’m certainly no expert and I’ve had more than my fair share of injuries. Looking at your blog you are doing a lot of the right things already. I really started to make progress when I followed a 10k schedule from Runners World. This one is good: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/racing/rws-8-week-10k-schedule-5-days-per-week/75.html

    I also do a bit of a core stability work to help avoid injury and a lot of stretching after every run.

    Good luck!


  3. […] a monthly series of events organised by the Mornington Chasers club. I hoped to hit the first of my targets for the year by running under 41 minutes and suspected I had a chance of getting close to my PB of […]


  4. […] in February I set myself three running targets for 2012, along with stretch versions of each.  My review of 2012 begins with a look at how I performed […]


  5. […] time last year I set myself three running targets for 2012 with a base and stretch version of each. I hit one stretch target, one base target and […]


Leave a Reply

